top of page

#TopTenTuesday: Top 10 Best Books I've Read in 2018 (So Far!)

This year I quit a job I really disliked and began writing full time! But even though I write 4-5 hours a day on average (sometimes more!), I've ended up with a lot more free time to read, as well as write! Because of my influx of reading time, I’ve gotten through more books than usual this year. I set my Goodreads goal at 100, and am already at 73 books read!

Even though the “Half-Year” marker has passed, I thought for #TopTenTuesday I would do a post highlighting my Top 10 favorite reads of 2018 – so far! I reread a lot of 5 star favorites this year too, such as Pride & Prejudice, Harry Potter, Lockwood & Co, etc, but I’ve decided to keep this list to 5 star books I read for the first time this year!

1. The Winner’s Curse (and the rest of the Winner's trilogy) by Marie Rutkoski

This book (and the ensuing two books in the series) are now not just in the top books of 2018 but of all time. I read the first book in January, and right away I knew it would be hard to beat! This is SUCH an underrated series, and in my opinion the covers don’t do it justice. This series is incredibly well written, lyrical, and thought-provoking. There’s amazing action and characters (AND character development), realistic, well-plotted romance, and a whole lot of political manipulations and courtly intrigue. I can’t recommend them highly enough, and not just to lovers of YA!

You can read my Goodreads reviews of this series here:

2. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I read this book in a single sitting. I took it with me everywhere, even propping it up while I cooked dinner - literally encapsulating the “head stuck in a book.” Although I enjoy a good contemporary, I usually stick to adult contemporaries (a la Sophie Kinsella) because sometimes the YA ones feel a little bit clichéd (not always! I’m usually just more of a fantasy/sci-fi fan). But I'll Give You the Sun SHOOK me. I was engrossed and riveted. The writing was fantastic, the story believable and so important. This is without a doubt the best YA contemporary I’ve ever read (so far).

You can read my blog review here!

3. Can You Keep a Secret? By Sophie Kinsella

This book had me in actual hysterics! I can’t remember a time I laughed so hard. I read it in a single day, reading late into the night to finish it, and ended up having to leave the bedroom so I didn’t wake up my boyfriend – I was laughing THAT hard! This book was heartwarming, hilarious, and oh-so-fun. I loved it!

You can read my blog review here!

4. Pestilence by Laura Thalassa

I don’t really remember how I discovered this NA romance book, but I’m SO glad I did. I love a good New Adult book, but I’ve found that I’ve read many that rely too heavily on the romance and not enough on the actual plot or characterizations. This is why I tend to give 3 stars to most NA books I read – while I really enjoy them, they didn’t blow me away. Pestilence did NOT fall into this trap. Although it did have romance and sex scenes like any NA book, it had the most intriguing and thought-provoking plot, and an enemies-to-lovers trope that was done extremely well. If you’re looking for a NA romance that’s really well done and has paranormal influences – try this!

You can read my blog review here!

5. Spindle’s End by Robin McKinley

This book was recommended to me by my dear friend Tara (@spinatale on Instagram, and check out her gorgeous bookish blog here)! and I can’t thank her enough. I read this back in April, and am STILL thinking about it now. The reading experience is truly immersive – the writing is beyond lyrical, and so detailed I honestly felt like I was right there, living alongside the characters. Never has magic felt so tangible than reading Spindle’s End!

You can read my blog review here!

6. The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

This book was another couldn’t-put-it-down scenario! I majored in both History and Creative Writing in college, and love a good novel set in history. I also love fantasy, and The Dark Days Club meshes history and fantasy PERFECTLY. The descriptions and details of Regency England are amazing while never feeling like an info-dump! I would highly recommend this book, and its sequel! (And the third in the series comes out this year! Hooray!)

You can read my blog review here!

7. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

This book sat on my shelf for almost two years before I finally picked it up – and oh, am I so glad I did! All I can say is that I wish I read this the day I bought it. This book is the start of the Charlotte Holmes series, and is an ingenious retelling of the characters everyone knows and loves. The books are a perfect mesh of mystery and contemporary YA. While the mystery is always present and the tension keeps the pages turning, it also doesn’t shy away from the real, hard, necessary topics.

You can read my Goodreads reviews of A Study in Charlotte (Book 1) here!

The reviews for Books 2 and 3 in this series can be found on my blog here!

8. Imber by Tyffany Hackett

By the time I read Imber I was dying for a good fantasy read, and Imber delivers that 100%. We’re talking all the classic fantasy things you need (dungeons, quests, royals!) while still managing to be completely unique and original. I loved the story and the characters, and the plot was so intriguing that I literally cannot wait for the rest of this series! If you’re a fantasy fan, pick this up NOW.

You can read my blog review here!

9. Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

This book was one of my most highly anticipated releases of 2018, and it didn’t disappoint. The writing is detailed, lyrical, and poetic, the characters are flawed and strong and real. The use of fairytale themes and fantasy is so well done, and never over the top. It’s hard to even sum up this book, because it truly is such a journey for both the characters and the reader!

You can read my blog review here!

10. Inked Armor by Helena Hunting

I told y’all I loved well-done NA books! Inked Armor is the second book in a duology (the first book is Clipped Wings), and it firmly cemented this duology as one of my top choices in NA reads. There’s so much angst and drama, but it’s so well done, and I was so invested in the characters. At the end of the day, this duology is about two broken people with traumatic pasts helping each other to rebuild their worlds. It’s heartbreaking sometimes, but so beautiful. Highly recommend if you like NA romance!

That's it: the 10 books that I've loved the most so far this year! We have fantasy, contemporary, NA romance; we have adult and YA, and I'd highly recommend all of them to fans of the respective genres!


bottom of page