top of page

REVIEW: Can You Keep a Secret?

Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Page Count: 364 pages

Release Date: March 17, 2003

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Emma is like every girl in the world. She has a few little secrets. Secrets from her mother: 1. I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom to Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben Hur. ...From her boyfriend: 2. I'm a size twelve. Not a size eight, like Connor thinks. 3. I've always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken. ...From her colleagues: 4. When Artemis really annoys me, I feed her plant orange juice. (Which is pretty much every day) 5. It was me who jammed the copier that time. In fact, all the times. ...Secrets she wouldn't share with anyone in the world: 6. My G string is hurting me. 7. I faked my Maths GCSE grade on my CV. 8. I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is... ...until she spills them all to a stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger...

My Review:

I honestly believe that Sophie Kinsella got up in the morning and sat down to write Can You Keep a Secret and was like:

Well, Ms. Kinsella, to that I say...

This book was SO, SO, SO GOOD. I haven't laughed so hard over a book since... ever? And I'm not talking chuckling to yourself, or a smile here and there. I broke down into uncontrollable laughter and had to go into another room since my boyfriend was trying to sleep. THIS BOOK MADE ME LAUGH UNTIL I WAS IN HYSTERICS.

First of all, Emma Corrigan is one of the most relatable protagonists ever, and since the book is told in first person, it's like being inside the head of a best friend. She is quirky, real, and down to earth, and is honestly one of my new favorite protagonists of all time.

Dear Emma Corrigan:

I won't give away any spoilers about the plot, but it was so fast-paced and full of hilarity and twists and turns that I stayed up until 2 AM to finish because I just HAD to know what happened.

Overall, I would 1000% recommend this to anyone looking for a hilarious, fun adult contemporary!

RECAP: HILARITY. SECRETS. UBER-RELATABLE PROTAGONIST. ROMANCE. SARCASM. BEST FRIENDS. PLOT TWISTS.


bottom of page