top of page

REVIEW: I'll Give You the Sun

Page Count: 384 pages

Release Date: September 16, 2014

Rating: 10000/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

“We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.” At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world. This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

My Review:

BE STILL, MY HEART. THIS BOOK IS PERFECTION.

I went into I'll Give You the Sun thinking "oh, just another contemporary novel." Therefore, I was not expecting to fall so in love with it. BUT OH MY GOODNESS, I will never underestimate a book again, because I couldn't help falling completely in love with this book.The writing, the characters, the story...GAH. I read the entire day (even while I cooked dinner. That's how good it was. I literally couldn't tear my eyes away from the pages). Here's what I loved: Noah and Jude are perfectly imperfect and oh-so-real. I was so invested in their lives and stories, and was rooting for them the whole way through. Jandy Nelson's writing style is tangible and descriptive and just BEAUTIFUL. The story is so well told, especially as it's told from two different people and two different years. The difference in perspective and time flows so naturally and easily. The way Nelson brings everything together is truly incredible and heart-wrenching. There was not much (okay, there was nothing!) that I disliked about IGYTS. It's just a whirlwind of perfection. The ONLY thing (you'll laugh) is that it takes place in California, and "hella" is used in the wrong way a couple times. i'm from the Bay Area, California, and was born in Oakland, where "hella" originated...so when the teens in IGYTS used it in a way that doesn't really make sense, I cringed a little bit. But other than that tiny issue...NO PROBLEMS.

Overall, this book is solid gold from start to finish, and I'd highly recommend it!


bottom of page